DC Ranch Association – Board of Directors

Meeting Minutes: April 3, 2023



Date/Time: Location: Purpose:	Monday, April 3, 2023, Started: 6:28 p.m. / Ended: 6:56 p.m. The Ranch Offices and Zoom Regular Open Meeting
Chaired By: Recording:	Michele Ray-Brethower Meghann Hill
Status:	APPROVED
Attendance: Directors:	Dr. Philip Geiger; Greg Kiraly; Marla Walberg; John Shaw; Elaine Cottey; Iryna Sukhovolets; Don Matheson (via Zoom)
Absent:	None
Management:	Michele Ray-Brethower, Executive Director Meghann Hill, Director of Community Services Kathren Coleman, Communications Coordinator Jeff Shaw, IT Manager Alexis Firehawk, Attorney
Call to Order / Establishment of Quorum / Roll Call	

Ms. Ray-Brethower called the meeting to order at 6:28 p.m. A quorum was established with seven directors present.

Consent Agenda

Consent agenda March meeting minutes approval tabled until May meeting.

Unfinished Business

Policy 104 – Expense Signature Authority

Ms. Ray-Brethower provided an overview of proposed updates to Policy 104 to confirm signature authorities for the Executive Director and authorized Director-level staff.

Ms. Cottey made a motion to accept the proposed updates to Policy 104 as presented. Dr. Geiger seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Modification Committee Charter Amendment

Ms. Ray-Brethower provided an overview of the proposed changes to the Modification Committee Charter including membership consisting of at least five and not more than seven members with two of those members being Board members.

Ms. Cottey made a motion to accept the proposed updates to the Modification Committee Charter as presented. Dr. Geiger seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Election of Officers 2023-2024

Ms. Cottey made a motion to appoint the following Board Officers:

- President Dr. Phil Geiger
- Vice President Greg Kiraly
- Treasurer John Shaw
- Secretary Marla Walberg

Mr. Shaw seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Appointment of Committee Chair Positions

Modification Committee Chair and Vice-Chair

Dr. Geiger made a motion to appoint Don Matheson as the Chair of the Committee and Phil Geiger as Vice-Chair of the Committee. Ms. Cottey seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Modification Committee Member

Dr. Geiger made a motion to appoint Geoff Wilner to the Modification Committee. Mr. Shaw seconded the motion. The motion passed with 6 ayes and 1 nay.

Budget and Finance Committee Vice-Chair

With Mr. Shaw being elected as Treasurer, he was appointed as the Budget and Finance Committee Chair. Dr. Geiger made a motion to appoint Elaine Cottey as Vice-Chair of the Committee. Mr. Kiraly seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Firewise Committee Chair and Vice-Chair

Dr. Geiger made a motion to appoint John Shaw as the Chair of the Committee. Mr. Kiraly seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Geiger made a motion to appoint Iryna Sukhovolets as Vice-Chair of the Committee. Mr. Shaw seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Policy Committee Vice-Chair

With Ms. Walberg being elected as Secretary, she was appointed as the Policy Committee Chair. Mr. Shaw made a motion to appoint Elaine Cottey as Vice-Chair of the Committee. Ms. Walberg seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Sustainability Committee Vice-Chair

Ms. Cottey made a motion to appoint Iryna Sukhovolets as Vice-Chair of the Committee. Dr. Geiger seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Community Patrol and Gate Access Committee Vice-Chair

Mr. Kiraly will remain as the Chair of the Committee and Dr. Geiger will remain as the Vice-Chair.

Member Open Forum – None

Announcements

- Community Patrol and Gate Access, April 12, 6 pm, Market Street Offices, Market Street Offices
- Market Street Villas Resident Meeting on Insurance, April 19, 12:30 pm, The Homestead
- Joint Board Orientation, April 19, 4-7 pm, The Homestead
- Board Retreat, April 25, 9 am-4:30 pm, Location TBD
- Regular Board Meeting, May 8, 6 pm, Board in person, residents via Zoom

Adjournment: There being no further business to conduct, Ms. Ray-Brethower adjourned the meeting at 6:56 p.m.